Iris never deletes devices or users. The item is only marked as deleted in the database. This is why sometimes you cannot add a new device or user without getting an error about “not being unique”.
Users or devices can be undeleted by selecting "show deleted users" or "show deleted devices" on the relevant page and then clicking the undelete button.
Here is an example on the Devices page.